In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified.

Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking cigarettes in public places is prohibited in many nations. I consider this reasonable as it could prevent the damage which smoking could do to the health of the public at large, and it can also reduce the number of smokers.

There are numerous reasons which justify that smoking should be banned in public areas. First of all, it is seriously affecting the wellbeing of people who do smoking and the people surrounds them. Passive smoking is considered a prime cause of many serious illnesses. For instance, many people die every year due to cancer and lung failure despite having a healthy diet and lifestyle. It is believed that passive smoking is a major reason behind these diseases and mortalities. Therefore, it is in the public interest that the government should ban this evil of society in order to prevent further health issues.

In addition to health, the prohibition of smoking at the public places will definitely be helpful in the reduction of smoking in our society. Smokers and non-smokers work and socialize together in our society and when smokers have to leave the company of everyone while smoking then this will be an awkward situation for them. This embarrassment could motivate them in quitting smoking. For instance, a ban on smoking in public areas by Delhi government assisted in reduction of number of smokers in Delhi by eleven percent in 2018 in comparison to 2017. Thus, I believe that prohibiting smoking is an important initiative to tackle the problem of smoking in society.

To conclude, in order to prevent the detrimental effects of smoking towards the wellbeing of people and our biosphere reverses, I think that it is necessary that all the government should ban the smoking in public areas. This initiative will definitely help in reductions of number of smokers in our society.