In many countries, smoking is now illegal in public places. Many people believe that such a ban is justified. Do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that smoking in open spaces such as offices, malls, airports, railway and bus stations is completely prohibited, and it is considered as an offence by several governments. In my opinion, I believe this restriction totally fair in order to avoid the health risks associated with individual's life and society as well.

First of all, the ban on smoking in public buildings would tend to reduce the number of active smokers. Consequently, the detrimental health issues caused by this would also be diminished to a considerable extent. Lung cancer, for instance, is a deadly disease caused by excessive smoking, and there is no medical remedy available to cure this ailment. After the introduction of a legislative act on the ban on smoking in India during the year 2015, the percentage of patients suffering from lung cancer has drastically reduced to only 4 percent in the year 2019 as compared to 13 percent in the year 2015.

Moreover, it would also aid to improve the health status of the environment and avoid the lethal impacts of smoking on passive smokers. In other words, fewer smoking fumes will be emitted in the airspace which ultimately mitigates the effects of air pollution caused by a line smoker who does smoking in an open environment by walking on a road. Apart from this, a passive smoker who is the person being indirectly affected by inhaling the fumes of cigarette which is smoked by an active smoker nearby would not be at risk and could avoid harmful diseases. Therefore, the whole community will be benefitted from the imposition of restrictions on smoking.

In conclusion, it is evident that the implementation of legislation prohibiting smoking in public spots is justified in terms of the reduction of active smokers as well as the dangerous effects on non-smokers and the environment.