Recently, many people know a few of their neighbors. What is the cause of this problem? What can be done to solve this problem?

Nowadays, large majority of people remain less aware about their neighbors. The paramount cause is the communication gap due to hectic schedules which can be addressed by organizing events within the vicinity and using social medical as communication tool.

To start with, growing affluence and busy life has led people to spend time with their immediate social circle as a result people sharing the same boundaries hardly get chance to communicate with each other. Various problems pertinent to the area such as security, cleanliness, water and sewerage remain unresolved due to lack of communication. According to survey conducted by social club of UK, revealed that two third quarters of residents are unfamiliar with their neighborhood and 80% of respondents consider communication as the leading cause.

In order to curb the situation, union council or society administration ought to come forward and arrange entertainment, social and professional events which provide platform to meet people and share their concerns, expertise with each other to be mutually helpful. At present, various house building corporations in Pakistan has developed society system where chairman of the society is responsible to arrange charity, entertainment and social gatherings so people can develop cordial relationships with their neighbors and mitigate communication gap. Undoubtedly, this measure has resolved the issue to greater extent. Further, use of social networking sites such as a communicative page on Facebook or interactive group on whatsup also bolster communication among people. Admittedly, social media is the easiest and the quickest medium of interaction.

To conclude, people nowadays are less interactive with their neighbors. Therefore, administrative authorities must provide platforms where people living in same area can meet and mingle with each other to bridge the gap and build healthy relationships.