The restoration of old buildings in major cities throughout the world involves enormous expenditure. This money would bring more benefits if it was used to providing new housing and road development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Restoration of ancient building in order to preserve cultural heritage of a country requires huge amount of money. I strongly agree with the notion that government should spend money to construct houses and roads to accommodate increasing population because shelter is the basic necessity of life and proper roads will decrease commuting time of people and goods. This essay will demonstrate impacts of utilizing finds on building homes and roads rather than on renovation of historic buildings.

To start with, population across the globe is increasing rapidly and it is estimated that by 2050 world would face huge problems due to scarcity of houses. In Addition, according to Maslow’s need hierarchy spectrum; food, clothing and shelter are the basic need of mankind. Culture and traditions remain at self-actualization stage which lies on the top of pyramid. Thus, consistent with this line of thinking, it is wise to spend money in fulfillment of needs to improve quality of life rather than preservation of culture.

Another insight that must not be neglected is development of roads. Admittedly, developed roads provide an ease to people for commuting within minimum time. Moreover, proper roads also decrease the trading cost of goods from urban to rural areas and vice versa. The National Highway Authority of Pakistan constructed Grand Trunk Road, which connects Lahore to other cities with a motive that transportation goods will decrease by 10% fortunately, this aim was achieved and remarkable results were documented. Seen in this light, it is fair to believe that spending money to improve standard of living have far better results than spending on renovation of old buildings.

To conclude, utilization of funds remain challenging concern for government that either to spend on preservation of historic buildings or to spend in building houses and road. Though, both concerns have their merits but I strongly believe that people nowadays are struggling to fulfill their basic needs for which they strive throughout their life. Hence, it must be the primary responsibility of decision makers to invest in current population than restoration of ancient buildings.