Some people say that it is good to have a uniform for all the employees at work. Do you agree or disagree?

Extensive research has been conducted to increase the productivity of employee out of which, one such concept is uniform which means standard clothing at workplace; where there is no differentiation among hierarchy. Despite this, it is condemn that uniforms is not a good way because it deter employee performance and it is not practical. This essay will discuss why uniform is not a good idea in workplace.

Firstly, work is a place where an employee spend more than half his quality time to perform his job so clothing must be according to his comfort level so he can produce as per expectation. According to a survey regarding office decorum and clothing conducted by HR solutions, USA in 2017 concludes that an employee performance is directly related to clothing he wear during office hours. Thus, it is clear that employee having choice of dressing at work bring best results and keeping him restricted will refrain his performance.

Secondly, uniform is not practical approach. Office decorum mentions that clothes must be clean and tidy. It is impractical that an employee who spend almost ten hours at job upon his return wash it for next day. In addition, even it is not economical to keep 5-6 uniforms; as not every employee is earning enough to spend on maintaining it. A recent research concludes that an average employee salary in Pakistan allows him to buy clothes after every 9 months because most of his expenditure is utilised in fulfilling his basic necessity which left him with little saving for wish list like clothes, shoes and other accessories. The argument that uniform is a good idea can be debunked.

To conclude, uniform are restricted with formal clothing and is neither feasible nor practical in every profession. In my opinion, in order to produce quality work, an employee must be given fair chance to to dress as per his comfort but do maintain office decorum.