Recently, many people know a few of their neighbors. What is the cause of this problem? What can be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and any example from your own experience.

These days, people hardly know their neighbors. There are several factors that are attributable to this situation, and solutions need to be adopted to combat the issue.

The major reason of people knowing less of their neighborhood is the busy lifestyle of people. Due to long working hours and hectic schedules at work, people are already striving to maintain work-life balance. It is very hard for individuals to take out time for interacting with their family and even relatives, hence knowing less of neighbors makes sense. In addition, culture also plays a pivotal role when it comes to people knowing their neighborhood. For example, the tendency of people knowing less of their neighbors is more pronounced in Western civilizations where people prefer to mind their own businesses as opposed to Asian societies. Moreover, the prevalence of social media has also contributed towards reduced interaction among people. We can see people spending more time on social networking websites like Facebook and Twitter as opposed to face to face interactions.

Some of the ways to tackle this problem includes educating people about the benefits of knowing and keeping strong ties with their neighborhood. This is because, people are likely to feel more relaxed when they know and trust their neighbors. In addition, attention must also be given to the better management of work-life balance. Moreover, the importance of face-to-face interaction cannot be ignored and must be stressed within our societies in order to promote a healthy environment.

To recapitulate, culture in addition to the busy life-style of people have contributed towards the trend of people hardly knowing their neighborhood. However, this issue can be solved by employing ways as discussed earlier.