In many countries, more money is spent on transport system in the cities. In contrast, very little is spent in rural areas. What are the effects of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

These days, governments are spending a lot of money on transport networks across metropolitan areas as opposed to the country-side. This essay will discuss the effects of such a policy and propose some solutions to tackle this issue.

The principle effect of such a policy will be on the economic development of the country-side. We all know that proper infrastructure facilities are a pre-requisite to attract new businesses to any place. With the lack of transport facilities in the country-side, it would be unlikely for rural dwellers to attract new businesses which will eventually create a disparity in the economic growth of rural and urban areas. In addition, tourism industry might also get affected. This is because, usually most of the sight-seeing is present at the country-side. For example, in Pakistan tourists prefer to visit northern areas which fall under the category of rural areas.

The solution to this problem includes the proper allocation of budget between rural and urban areas. Governments must not ignore the development of country-side and must consider the necessity of better transport facilities in the rural areas. In addition, tourism industry must also make efforts to bring governments attention to this issue and highlight the importance of better infrastructure facilities at appropriate forums.

To recapitulate, the disparity between money spent on transport networks in rural and urban areas is likely to cease the economic development of the country-side and is likely to have detrimental effect on the tourism industry as well. In order, to solve this issue governments should consider proper allocation of financial resources between urban and sub-urban area and tourism industry must also make efforts by addressing the issues to the relevant authorities.