The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern life style. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The consumption of fast foods increases during the current fast paced world. While some people support that the availablity of fast foods are good for society, others argue that it is leading to the bad things. In this essay, the benefits and drawbacks of the popularity of convenience foods among the people will be explained.

There are numerous advantages of fast foods. The most obvious benefit is their availability that fast foods are easily able to be accessed from everywhere. They are necessary for the modern lifestyle since people do not want to waste their time for finding a restaurant. For example, the biggest fast food chain, McDonald, can be found in every corners of the world and its popularity is huge among the society. Moreover, their attractive behavior, smell and taste, also helps them stand out from other traditional foods.

Despite of their benefits, the drawback of fast foods should not be neglected. According to the scientists, they are the major ingredients of obesity problem which becomes one of the biggest challenge between people in third-world countries. They are also pretty addictive and people are consuming foods beyond their everyday needs. Over consumption of calories leads to an obese society that in turn reduces the human life expectancy and productivity.

To conclude, despite of its advantages helping the fast-paced lifestyle, it fails to maintain the productivity and human life expectancy. My opinion is that the drawbacks of fast food cost more to our society than its benefits and governments should ban or increase the tax of fast food industry.