The role of prisons should be to punish criminals who have committed serious crimes. Training courses and education offered to prisoners are a waste of taxpayer’s money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It would be argued by some that the function of jails should be to impose a penalty for the serious criminals and education for them is not necessary but also waste of government's budget. In my opinion, however, I believe that punishment and education in prisons are both necessary for the people stayed there.

On the one hand, the primary reason why some people think that the criminals should be punished. this helps to isolate them from society, variety of punishments or forced labours with strict supervision to let them know consequences of their illegal action, reducing their criminal intentions after release. beside that education and career training, I thinks, the government should apply to prisoners, these assist the prisoners learn more skills, which may missed during their live in the outside world. In addition, to attend full all classes and job training program are also a kind of discipline, which forced them have to obey something, this will make the criminal would hesitate to commit threats to society. For example, The scientists has proved that the criminal ratio would be sharply decrease in high education people level.

On the other hand, I would argued that the roles of prisons should be combined both methods education and punishment for the prisoners, Because corporal punishment helps them realize that their sins deserve to be treated like that. education helps them improve their vision and understanding which is the main reason for them to know what is right and what is wrong. career helps them to be able to find a suitable job to avoid too much free time which can cause negative effects.

In conclusion, although some people say that there will be waste of time and money of state for serious criminals who has jailed about education and training courses, I personally believe that combine the both methods in education and vocational guidance will be the best way.