Safety standards are important when building people’s homes. Who should be responsible for enforcing strict building codes -the government or the people who build homes ?

Security of the structure of a building is more relevant today,though is a joint accountability of the local government ,development authorities and citizens to ponder upon safety requirements according to ones geography.major onus in driving such standards lies with government

Firstly,on a macro level depending upon geographical and weather what should be the ideal safety measures taken will be decided after thorough research by architects and urban town planning depeartment.this would lead in creating a final blue print of basic and advanced safety and security perspectives for the public to adhere too.For instance ,if a particular area or a state is under high seismic zone ,then the foundation of residential buildings should be more strong specially in case of high-rise structures.

Secondly ,due to limited land availability in and around cities ,there is an upward trend in building of societies with flats rather than independent houses.In this,local authorities clave our guidance for such high rising residential accommodations keeping in mind various eventualities like earthquakes,fire,floods etc .Because of higher number human lives involved clear exit route and assembly points should be well planned to minimise loss.Clear expectation from the authorities will also help in creating right demand for safety equipment’s like fire extinguishers and alarms.Admitedly ,this will lead to technological innovations and economies of scale .Regular audit for safety measures will make sure high compliance rates.

To close ,day-to-day implementation of safety measures has to be driven by people in large ,but right direction and approach has to be set by government agencies.