School and university students learn lessons far better from their teachers than from other sources, such as the Internet and television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Experts throughout both the developing countries and developed countries have debated whether teacher teaching lessons fetch far better results than learning through new online methods like internet and television. Some believe that schools and university should adopt modern styles of teaching in order to achieve better results, personally I strongly disagree. This essay will state that lessons learned from teachers are best using examples to demonstrate points and prove arguments.

On the one hand learning through internet or television is fun and not monotonous. Many online courses are animated and includes graphic which helps in retaining the attention span of the student. However, such online courses are non-interactive like classroom thus it does not ensure or guarantee that the student has learned the lesson. Also, in the online courses students are unable to clarify their doubts thus making learning very limited. For example, recent empirical research by the Oxford University demonstrated that students learning through online methods have very limited knowledge of the subject compared to students who learn from teachers. Therefore it is conclusively clear that if students rely on learning through other sources they will have severe implications.

On the other hand there is ample evidence that the studying in classroom from teachers have far better benefits. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly teachers are subject matter experts and have gained the knowledge by doing an extensive study and research. In order to make class interactive, teacher encourages group discussions and assign projects to students. The learning through such methods are considered to be the best and also it teaches students team dynamic and team work. For example, an extensive study by Mumbai University showed that over 90% of students gain more insight of the subject through interactive sessions organised by teachers. Teachers also pay special attentions to students who are academically weak thus encouraging them to increasing their confidence. Additionally, teachers not only concentrates on the academic curricular but also teaches values, morale and manners to students which helps in shaping the students life. Thus it is possible to state beyond doubt that teachers play an important role in student’s life.

From the argument and examples given I firmly believe that learning through online channels is temporary and not efficient. It is predicted that lessons learned through teachers will increasingly grow in importance.