Some think that teenagers should follow older people’s rules. Others thinks that it is natural for them to challenge what older people say. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Experts throughout both the developing and developed world would have debated whether teenagers should follow footsteps of their elders or challenge them. This essay will discuss both the views using examples to demonstrate points and prove arguments.

On the one hand, there is ample evidence that states that following rules set by elders is beneficial. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, elders have gained knowledge, wisdom over the years through experiences. Secondly, the years of experience gathered by the elders helps them to evade any bad situations in life. Hence, it is wise to say that elders can set rules for naïve teenagers. For example, recent empirical research by the UK family council demonstrated that 40% of teenagers have express gratitude to their elders for the success achieved through their guidance. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that elder’s maturity, life experiences and wisdom, helps in carving the pathway of success for teenagers.

On the other hand, making it compulsory for teenagers to follow rules set by elders are not considered to be one of the best options. This is largely because, we are now living in a fast moving world, and to cope up we need to be adaptive to changes. Elders are claimed to possess a rigid mind-set and prefer not to change or take risk as per the changing society needs. For example, an extensive study by Oxford University showed that a few teenagers today face disagreement from their elders when they decided to pursue non-conventional life goals. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt teenagers are well versed with the latest trends of the fast moving world compared to elders.

To conclude, I firmly believe that in order to be successful in life, teenagers should follow their dreams, however should also consider advice of the elders who have gained wisdom through life experiences. Today, many teenagers in the field of art and sports have achieved success as they have followed their dreams and guidance of the elders.