Some people think that a law should exist so that young people under 18 cannot be out after the midnight, others think it should not be. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There has been raging debate that young people under 18 should be prohibited to venture out post-midnight. Some experts believe that there should be a strict law for all young people, while some believe otherwise. I personally believe that there should not be any restrictions levied on young people. In this essay, we will argue both the views using examples to demonstrate points and prove arguments.

On the on hand, there is ample evidence that states that young people under 18 should not roam around the city post-midnight. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly, young people under 18 are said to be naïve and hence they tend to fall prey to bad habits like consuming alcohol and drugs when they attend late night parties in night clubs. For example, recent research by Hindustan Times states that cases of young people under 18 years in drunk driving and overdose of drugs has accelerated by 15% over last 2 years. Secondly, young people should not roam post-midnight due to security reasons. To illustrate, CBI of India 2018 report stated that most of kidnapping planning happens post-midnight as the young people are not accompanied by elders or are roaming with friends. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that young people alone by themselves should not be allowed to roam around freely in the night.

On the other hand, many experts debate that putting restrictions on young people is not the solution, but implementing strict laws for offenders is necessary. We are living in a free world where people have a right to move around freely especially young people who are very eager to explore life. Instead of putting restriction on young people, the government should ensure safety of them by implementing strict law for offenders who serve alcohol in parties to people under age of 18 years, increase police surveillance by deploying more cops post-midnight and install camera surveillance on roads, malls and other public areas. For example, an extensive study by Oxford University states that countries like Japan and China has low crime rate as they have strict laws and also they tale measures for safety of their citizen. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that putting restrictions is not the solution.

From the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that it is a fundamental right of every citizen to move around freely in his/her city at any time. By imposing law will only create unrest among people. However, in order to control the crime rate and mishaps, government has a right to impose strict laws and work towards the safety of its citizen.