School children are becoming far too dependent on computers. This is having an alarming effect on reading and writing skills. Teachers need to avoid using computers in the classroom at all costs and go back to teaching basic study skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is undeniable that technological developments has influenced and given direction to the way of education. Some people belive that electronic devices, such as computers and laptops alarmingly creates addiction in pupils which infer with their writing and reading activities.To tackle this problem, they offer a radical solution that is to return basic educational curriculum for what it costs. I am strongly disagree with this idea because of being not compatible with real life and creating new problems in education system.

On the one hand, many jobs require computer based skills which mainly be gained in schools. To be more productive, contemporary industrial companies need computer-based automation that are controlled by well-educated and competent computer users. Moreover, in the future , workers won't need writing or skill, as they might be just using their minds to control this machines.For instance, in Silicon Valley, the paramount and essential skill to get a job is to have a knowledge of programming. Thus, returning to ancient teaching methods would not suits with the real life needs.

Furthermore, leaving computer usage in classes may decrease the students' motivation and grades. Technological devices are popular in new generation. It is obvious that they learn and communicate by using computers and smart phones, Prohibition of these devices may emerge to loose of the learning motivation. For instance, students, who are educated in technology-free classroom in Uganda did not showed better grades in literacy. Therefore, other solutions may alleviates the computer addiction in spite limit the usage in lessons.

To sum up, technology bring about addictive problems and loss of some basic skill. To my opinion, rather than limiting or prohibiting the usage of computers in school, finding other ways to teach basic writing and reading should be more rational.