Science advanced so much that It can now make it possible for people to live 100 years or even 200. some people think it is a good thing, other think that it is a bad thing. discuss both views and give your opinion

Medical science has increased the life expectancy from the past couple of decades. This achievement has positive consequences as well as negative. I strongly believe that it has resulted in some serious threats to our society.

Science and technology have radically changed the world we live in. They are affecting all aspects of our life and one of the major contributions is in the field of medicine. Advance technology and medicine have tremendously helped in detecting diseases at the early stages and curing them. Consequently, the benefits are in the form of better health and longer life. First and foremost, older people have invaluable experience, know the bigger picture and knowledge of a broader range of subjects that they can understand and solve complicated situation in a couple of minutes. Secondly, they can work for longer years, which will help them to support themselves financially as well as physically. Additionally, this will increase their self- esteem as they will feel useful and make a positive contribution to the community.

On the other hand, this has also posed some serious threats. With time cognitive and analytical skill of human beings deteriorate, they are not fast enough on making a decision, and scared to take risks. Secondly, technology has changed the way corporate world works. If you want to be competitive and take cutting-edge over rival, that could be only achieved by learning new ways. But there is a saying that “you can’t teach old dog new tricks”. Thirdly, each company or business has fix hierarchical structure. If older generation will work until 100 , the younger generation would not be hired by companies.

In conclusion, I think science achievement in respect of longer life span should be appreciated as this is a major step forward. However, Increased life span will deprive new generation of their rights and this will consequently create a holistic environment.