Science will soon make people live up to 100 or even 200 years. Some people believe it is a good thing while other disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

We have seen stupendous improvement in medical science in last century. Because of this, soon it will also be possible that people live up to hundred or even double of that. Some people take it as a positive development while others think it will not be a good step. I will discuss both views and give reasons why I do not support the idea of longevity.

Most old age people die from chronic diseases such as hyperglycemia and cardio-respiratory disorders. However, medical science has invented solutions for many such health issues. These path-breaking developments will help people stay immune from these diseases, in order to live a longer life. This, in turn will help elderly people stay healthy and happy so that they can also lead an active life. Moreover, people often spend much of their earnings for medical treatments in last phase of their life. Nevertheless, being healthy in old age, will reduce their financial burden.

However, some people believe it is not a good idea to live up to hundred or two hundred years, as they may not be able to work after certain age. For example, if a person retires at the age of sixty-five and live up to two hundred years, he will be fully dependent on pension, which in turn will increase financial burden on government. Imagine, how much money government will need to spend on old age people if everybody lives for two centuries. Moreover, people after certain age, may also end up living a lonely life due to ignorance from their own people.

In conclusion, I personally do not think that living for one or two centuries in the future, is favorable although, it sounds tempting, it has many disadvantages such as extra burden on government and family as well as probable loneliness for more than half of life.