Science will soon make people live up to 100 or even 200 years. Some people believe it is a good thing while other disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The extraordinary advancement of science will make it possible for human to live up to 100 or 200 years. One school of thought believes this development would be a positive thing, while the opposing belief contends the opposite. I disagree with those who believe that an increase in life span is positive.

Disbelievers of the stated view believe that quality of life has more preference to the quantitative span of life. If someone lives for 200 years, but has cancer or arthritis, their life is not better than a person who lived a healthy and happy life of 75 years, for example. Another popular argument is that artificially increasing the life span of humans would result in a massive ecological imbalance, directly affecting the demographics and food security of the world. People also think that increased life spans would create a negative environment for the newly born humans, as there would not be enough resources in the world to feed a imbalanced population.

People who think that increased life span of 100-200 as a result of scientific progress believe that move years in life will give a chance to every person to fulfill his dreams which are not possible to achieve in 70-80 years. A 200-year life, for example, will let a person try a variety of things. They will get several chances to change their discourse in life. They will also get to spend more time with their family and successive generations. A longer life will help humanity progress more quickly, as we will get a chance to benefit from geniuses, scientists and scholars for a longer period of time.

My opinion is that a longer span of life is not a positive thing. A normal life span infuses in us an urgency to live in the present moment. We cannot waste our years, as we have a constant reminder of death in our self. A 100 or 200-year life will be of low quality. Humans will become a burden for our future generations and the circle of life designed by the evolutionary process will be disturbed.