Science will soon make people live up to 100 or even 200 years. Some people believe it is a good thing while other disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People are of opposing beliefs about Science increasing span of human life from 100 to 200 years in near future. This clear divide stems from varying mindset that people have towards the science and the world.

Disbeliever of this view are of opinion that depleting quality of life is no good reason for one living longer. They refuse it owing to the belief that longer life comes at a price and is only a wishful thought; a price that is healthy prosperous life, a price to see this heavily armed world full of wars, fatal diseases, environmental issues and lack of family support. According to them, the survival in this world running into global warming poses a burden. World is strongly empowered with chemical weapons that threaten the very own human existence and are dream-killers of a long healthy and happy living. It is also the idea of fatal incurable diseases such as Cancer and HIV Aids that shatter their confidence in the later age. They believe that as they grew older, they would be left at the mercy of caretaker homes and thought of being away from their families sounds hurtful.

On the other hand, if we try to look through a different lens, there is still a large group of people who really endorse and are happy with the opportunity to live longer that Science will offer them sooner rather later. They bring an opportunistic mindset where time is money which could be efficiently used to further equip and modernize the world. According to them, the extended life will give them a chance to fulfill their dreams of witnessing all the future scientific brilliance and advancements. They might get a chance to land on the moon or fly to outer space and visit far-off galaxies. Some of these people are also glad that they will have more time to spend with their families.

I think a life averaging 200 years would be no different from its 60 years counterpart, if it took the same course. Important is have a purpose in our lives and a good one, an extended period would allow to serve that purpose given that we channel our energies in the right direction. Scientists and researchers can carry and end their studies during in their lifetimes and world problems could be solved. On the contrary, a destructive mindset can do no good even if given an extra 100 years.