Science will soon make people live up to 100 or even 200 years. Some believe this is a good thing while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

On the one hand, some believe that people should live for a 100 years or even more than that as it will help them to stay with their loved ones for an extended period of time . As there will be fewer deaths, the world will be a better place to live in with no sorrows and sadness over the death of the near ones. Moreover, the life span of intelligent and genius people can be extended which will help the world get more knowledgeable people and they can offer their guidance through their experiences of life to the upcoming generations.

However, the aforementioned benefits are negligible when we consider the downsides of living forever. To start with, after people reach the age of 75 or 80 they have hardly anything left to do or experience. This will make their lives monotonous. In addition, this trend will lead to population explosion and will be detrimental to already existing global problems like food shortage, pollution and global warming, water crisis, accommodation issues and traffic congestion to mention some. The world resources will be depleted at a much faster rate with more people simultaneously consuming them. Another aspect to this is that with more proportion of population in elderly group the government will need to invest more for social benefits of old people and this will affect the economy of the nation.

To conclude, people may vary in their opinion, but I think that science should not go against the law of nature and extend the lifespan of humans as it will worsen the economy and environment of the world.