Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by the governments rather than private companies. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that scientific research should be conducted by the governments instead of private businesses. In my opinion, I completely agree with this idea due to below main reasons.

First, there are some primary causes against the idea that corporations should carry and control scientific research. In terms of quality and objectivity, they can be tempted to manipulate the results to maximize the profit. In fact, there are some scandals about the research as the result of inadequate and quick trials. For example, after being introduced hurriedly, Thalidome caused thousands of malformed children, which was a notorious event. Moreover, from ethnical perspective, leaving research into the hands of companies in the area of genetic engineering would lead to negative consequences. For instance, GM (genetic modified) crops have caused harmful problems to people’s health, because of meddling with nature.

On the other hand, although governments have other pivotal areas to allocate resources, research taken by governments is more beneficial and reliable. Obviously, it is more efficient and high-quality to provide university funds to carry scientific reasearch. These organizations do not focus on breaking into new markets or gain competitive edge, but aim to maximise the qualities. Also, only national authorities will prioritize proper areas of scientific reasearch such as medicines or agriculture, which are urgent to citizens. They are responsible for taking citizens’benefit into consideration, rather than gaining profits.

In conclusion, from the reasons I have mentioned, I believe that governmental bodies should take the responsibilities of carrying and controlling scientific research, not the profitable corporations.