Shopping is becoming more and more popular as leisure activity. However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects.

Why is shopping so popular? What effects does its increase in popularity have on individuals and on society?

Irrespective of gender, age, financial capacity, all people in a society are fond of shopping. However, in recent times, it’s gaining importance and is been considered as an activity to be done in free time. We will see the major reason for this in below paragraph.

With increasing stress levels, scarcity of time and increase in earning, needs and demands of a person are changing quite frequently. Technology evolution is bringing new products in market and advertising is giving broader coverage to these new products which tempts an individual to procure those items. In addition, with paramount in mall culture, has resulted into availability of different products under a single roof. Hence willingness to go for shopping with family and friends, during leisure time and on weekends is growing day by day. However, this increasing popularity towards shopping has both advantages and disadvantages for an individual as well as society as a whole.

As an individual, shopping not only gives a person new and latest items but also enriches him with moments of happiness, joy and opportunity to spend time with family and friends. But at the same time, he is losing money, time and his attachments towards the things he already possessing. For example: With launch of new apple phone, many people are waiting in long queues outside apple Shoppe even after having one mobile phone in hand.

If we consider society as a whole, positives of this increasing trends is more money is being infuse in the economy which can further be used improvement of infrastructure and upgrading low income groups. But on the contrary, people are becoming greedy towards new articles, feeling of completeness has vanished. The competition of having latest things has increased between near and dears.

To conclude the things, considering the pros and cons of the more and more shopping, individual should apply his mind and then only go forward for purchase of new items and not just a leisure activity.