Shopping is becoming more and more popular as a leisure activity, However, some people feel that this has both positive and negative effects.

Shopping is enjoyed among all the age groups and among all the societies. People like to do shopping mostly in free time. In this essay, we will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of shopping.

Nowadays, there are different attractive options for shopping, there are shopping malls which is a shopping centre for each and everything. Whenever people have free time, they go for shopping in malls as they can shop for long hours under one roof and then they have options to eat and drink at the same time. Hence, people prefer this option for shopping rather than retail shopping. In current covid situation, people are more inclined towards online shopping, as all the shopping centres were closed in the cities. This was the only option available for everyone then, and it was more acceptable by many. Not only it saved time, but also people had varied options to choose from, also they had the choice return the product if they dislike it and get refund on it. The main benefit of shopping is you can purchase daily necessities from the shops, also it de-stresses your mind as the person gets diverted from their daily routines, also people can gift to their loved ones whatever they wish.

The dis-advantage is that people especially from children age group get fascinated by the advertisements shown on Television, they wish to shop each and everything even if its not needed. This results in waste of money. Also people get attracted towards special offers and discounts offered by advertising the product.

In my opinion, shopping should be considered as fun activity and should shop essential products, also sometimes products that are fascinating but are useful in a certain way.