Should arts-related entertainment venues such as museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public, or should a charge apply for admittance?

Discuss this issue, and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Art museums and galleries undoubtedly, holds a significant and inevitable importance in the life of human beings and society while helping them to understand the cultural rituals and traditions of the nation. However, the issue is not entirely straightforward, and arguments can also be made against the idea. In this essay, a debate will be discussed and, given a concluding view.

On the one hand, proponents who support the idea of seeing the museums with no cost cite various benefits, it can bring to the museums. Firstly, it can help art galleries to gain popularity based on the events by showcasing well known and famous historical paintings and sculptures. In addition to this, it can arouse interest especially in the young children to go and visit these places while giving their guardians a chance to explore the new things displayed in museum. Secondly, With no cost, It would not only attract the visitors but also can increase the attendance mainly of the local tourists because of workshops related to their interests. For instance, National Museum Library conduct regular workshop on literature, science and technology which not only gives the platform to international researchers but also the encourages the local people to share their knowledge and expertise.

Conversely, opponents point out their view that museums should levy a minimal charge on people for visiting the art museums because it would help them to preserve and restore the artefacts in museum. Secondly, With less number of conservationists based on the unavailability of government funds it can help museum to revive back in the economy. Furthermore, the cost earned would be spent on improving the infrastructure, maintenance facilities and advanced technology which can help to protect the old things at museums.

Overall, it seems reasonable to levy a small amount on people which can help the conservationists to protect and conserve the historical things to show it to next generation to identify how the things were in the 20th century and how people used to spend their life.