Should citizen take out private health insurance?

It is a well known fact that health insurance is a problem discussed in every country. The question, however, arises is the health insurance should be taken by private industry or it should be a controlled by government. In this essay I will discuss positive and negative aspects of the private insurance.

First and foremost, it is common knowledge that every private company works much more efficient comparing to the one controlled by government. For example, Singapore has private health institutions and every citizen of the country can choose which private insurance they want and what the insurance going to cover in many different situations. On the other hand, Poland has public health institution and this example shows us that it does not work the way we wish. The biggest problem with public health institution in Poland is that there are lack of staff due to low monthly wages. Another issues with public health insurance is that the awaiting list to the doctor is relatively long.

Moreover, another advantage of the private health insurance is that competition has positive influence on the value that the institution provide and also decrease the price of the service that company provide. This is a basic rule how the economy works. More competitors on the market, better service and product for lower price.

However, some people may say that the private insurance is not the best idea for the country. The argument that they will give is that poor people may not be able to afford, due to high price.

In conclusion I believe, that the private health insurance can provide more benefits to the country by not only reducing waiting list to the doctors, but also by providing better and cheaper service.