Should the Death Penalty be abolished?

The death penalty is devised to purge the most heinous of criminality. Through the course of history, various methods of capital punishment have been adopted worldwide, from hanging, beheading, electrocution to rock-throwing and lethal injection, etc. But such brutal retribution has been sickening so a great many people that some have voiced their opposition towards it. Personally, I believe that such punishment should be abolished for good on the grounds of its exorbitant costs and counter-effectiveness.

Regarding its unbelievably high price tag, according to Amnesty International, in California, the current death penalty system consumes a staggering cost of $137 million annually. The expenditure would be much lower (estimated to be around $11.5 million) without the capital punishment. Also, in Maryland, the U.S., a death penalty case comes with an astounding price tag of $3 million, and such cases’ costs are 3 times higher than those of conventional kind. Additionally, a death row inmate would have to wait for roughly 10 to 15 years between sentencing and execution, meaning that they have to stay in special cells for death row inmates, costing much more capital in the long run. Recently, the U.S. alone has at least 54 people awaiting execution. This would put governments in serious financial deficits and reduce resources for crime prevention, healthcare, education, and other public services.

On the other hand, many states and countries have saved millions by abolishing capital punishment or by producing moratoriums. For instance, North California would save $11 million annually if it abolished the death penalty. Cutting down the resources that would be allocated for executions relieves pressures for taxpayers since citizens generally have to pay $90,000 more for such punishments to take place. Abolishing capital sentences is synonymous with more resources for rehabilitation, drug treatment programs, mental health services, etc.

The death penalty is essentially irreversible, once it is carried out, we cannot take it back. In addition, it does not deter criminality either. In fact, there is no solid evidence to prove that capital punishments reduce crime rates. According to a 2007 study of the death penalty by the Yale University of Law, African-American defendants get the ultimate punishments at three times the rate of white defendants in cases where there were white victims.

Another point to be added that there is no ‘humane’ way when it comes to taking lives. Even the lethal injection, which is considered to be ‘the most humane’, has tormented many inmates in failure cases. Ineffective sedation in lethal injection leads to painful deaths amongst inmates. A recent reveal of the botched execution in Oklahoma shows that the executioners have failed to make the inmate unconscious. As a result, the inmate died an agonizing death.

Also, public displays of executions such as lethal injections, beheading, hanging, etc. cause distress to the spectators and even the families of the victims. Although the essence of capital punishment is retribution, it is not making families of victims feel any better. This only recycles the cycle of violence and will not change society for the better.

Conclusion

To conclude, capital punishments are costly, inhumane and ineffective against crime. There is no doubt that the popularity of such punishment will decline within the next few years. The death penalty is no better than life in prison, where prisoners face remorse and would regret the things they did and later could be reintegrated into society. It is essential that we abolish capital punishment for the sake of society.