Should the government provide people with free accommodation?

The issue of accommodation is so acute, nowadays, that a growing number of people are struggling to rent and save money for housing. This leads one to wonder whether governments should supply unites of society with dwelling. This essay agrees with this point of view for the following reasons.

The first reason is that this initiative may trigger an outburst in population growth. It is scientifically proven that the size of population is directly dependent on the availability of housing, so by securing young families with free living spaces, the country may face an uncontrolled increase in the population. This would lead to a shortage of resources and inevitable collapse in the economy. For example, in the former USSR, the government carelessly launched a housing program, namely “Available apartments”, which ultimately created a problem with excessive fertility.

Another reason why governments should not provide people with free places to live in is that people may lose motivation to work. While living in a rented house, many working people attempt to save up for buying a house in the future, but housing supple by the government may gradually exempt them from the need of going to work. This exemption would ultimately create an adverse impact on the economic development, resulting in an economic collapse and people having to go to work again.

However, some sociologists think that securing people with free shelters is necessary. They say that it would help many families, which possess no permanent places of residence, to settle down in one place rather than to constantly relocate. Despite this, providing housing is an unreasonable campaign for the government, since it would cause an acute shortage of building materials, leading to long-term delays in construction.

In conclusion, the idea of providing people free housing is irrational as it would eventually lead to unbearable growth in population and serious economical downturns. Before buying an apartment, people should work hard and plan their family.