Should governments or teachers be responsible for what is to be taught in schools?

In this essay i will be debating the issue whether governments or teachers should be responsible for what is taught in schools.

I feel that both governments and teachers both play a significant role and are jointly responsible for what is taught to students in school.

The positive impact on students and literacy levels is evident and demonstrable in several countries where governments and teachers work in close collaboration with one another, and help improve education standards.

Governments are primarily responsible to standardise the curriculum across schools in the country and ensure that all students learn the basic requirements irrespective of the type of school, viz. public or private schools, and of the type of curriculum taught, e.g. IB, IGSC, British and several others.It is the governments' responsibility to ensure that the national educational goals are achieved and citizens have adequate literacy levels through a structured curriculum taught in schools. Literacy is one of the most critical determinants of employment and the more

kids study, the better their chances of finding a job after they finish school.

Teachers also play a very important role in the dissemination of education. Teachers are often perceived as role models who shape and mould

children from a very young and impressionable age. Teachers spend a huge amount of time with young kids especially in the formative

years and how and what, a teacher teaches, often leaves an indelible impression on children. Teachers have the ability, to bring to life subjects and topics and engage, enthuse and stimulate the imagination of kids. They have the responsibility to make subjects interesting and get students excited about studying in general.

In conclusion, I feel that both governments and teachers play an important role and are equally responsible for the upbringing of children and for

what is taught and how it is taught in schools.