should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community?

Whilst many benefits seekers are undoubtedly genuine, public sympathy often does not extend to the long-term unemployed.There is a feeling that such people in receipt of benefits should give something back to the community.

Making the long-term unemployed do voluntary work would satisfy public opinion and also be of great benefit to those out of work, from both a psychological as well as a practical viewpoint.

Long-term job seekers often lack self-esteem and confidence, which having a job provides. Working as a volunteer would help give them a purpose in life and help them win back their confidence.Also, without a good income or reason to get out. the long-term unemployed often end up staying home most of the time and then feel distanced from society and can be depressed.If they did voluntary work, they would become part of society once more.

From a practical aspect, doing voluntary work could also improve the employment prospect of long-term job seekers. Long-term job seekers have been out of the job market for sufficient time to sometimes make them an unattractive choice for employers. Working as a volunteer would give long-term job seekers recent work experience and make them more employable.

It can be seen that doing voluntary work can benefit the long-term unemployed on many levels. Instead of providing financial support for the long-term unemployed, with no form of payback, the government should instead demand a period of voluntary work in return for benefits. Whilst the idea may not be initially popular, it will benefit everyone in the long-run.