Time is changing and so is the paramount significance of considering old people from all walks of life as decent role models to pursue. Whether following well-experienced elderly people by immature adolescents is a must or not has sparked a heated debate. Although it is argued by some that teenagers ought to be inspired by the old sayings just owing to averting mistakes to be made, this is stringently refuted by this essay. Should old people’s manners are not challenged by young people, undoubtedly, the latter group cannot be survived, from a successful perspective, in today’s competitive world. Throughout the following paragraphs, these standpoints will be meticulously scrutinized to advocate the second verdict as an acceptably rational viewpoint.

On the one side, the more the elderly’s experience is considered by the young, the fewer mistakes, either minor or major, will be made by inexperienced young adults. Take an extremely young tradesman, enjoying an extensive diversity of very priceless advice from his adequately sophisticated grandfather in his adventurous business, as an illustration. Doing so, in every economically essential situation, the best critical decisions will be made to hamper financial damages by this young businessman, thanks to respecting his matured grandfather as a well-informed consoler. This glaringly apparent instance can clearly exemplify that by following old people’s recommendations, a wide variety of mistakes can be hampered by the young. However, although it deems a must to constitute the old sayings as invaluable informative resources that can catalyze to make youths personally triumphant, this approach is sternly denied by this essay to a great extent.

In the nowadays competitive world, on the other hand, not purely following the aged crowd can play an indispensable role in every young individual’s success, in terms of challenging outdated traditions. In the past, a myriad of youths got married in their 20s just as a custom, for instance. In the 21st century, this can act as a precursor to preclude achieving some long term goals that might have been set by adolescents, due to tremendous competitions that are currently existed to achieve personal targets. By this, the young can either follow the tradition of early marriage at the cost of neglecting their purposes or not, breaking the mold. By shedding a light on this simple example, it is obviously proved that it is preponderant to change some obsolete stereotypes in favor of getting personal aims at an early age. It, thus, deems that not only is it better to ignore what the old say, but it is vital enough to be successful, specifically in the current competitive century.

To recapitulate, after careful situational analysis of some boons and demerits of following old people, that are closely associated with avoiding mistakes and not keeping the momentum going, respectively, it seems that, nowadays, challenging old customs is a key part for the young. It is, therefore, hoped these predominant points will be taken into account the world over in the foreseeable future.