Smacking children is the best form of discipline.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Generations ago, corporal punishment was considered an extremely well-respected and popular way of controlling misbehaviour among children. Furthermore, an overwhelming majority of parents still believe that smacking is a superior form of discipline. This essay will argue that smacking children is completely unacceptable and significantly detrimental to them.

Current parenting styles in some families involves bringing up children through the use of fear, which can persuade infants and youngsters to be more obedient. This rough method instills discipline in the child in order to improve their behaviour. However, disciplining through fear can affect the child psychologically in the long term. A paper published by Dr. John Watson, a world-renowned children psychologist, reveals that 27% of young individuals, whose parents raised them with the use of corporal punishment, demonstrated better educational results and statistically are more law abiding in the future. Therefore, it is clearly seen that smacking can be called an effective measure to control some children’s disrespectful and offending behaviour.

Despite the established opinions, the idea that physical force is the principal form of discipline is completely preposterous and incorrect. That is to say, that the adaptation of violence in bringing up children can influence their mental health causing tremendous psychological problems as they mature. In addition, a vast majority of juvenile delinquency has originated due to the vicious physical punishment in their childhood. It can be illustrated by the latest research conducted by Cambridge University, that elucidated the fact, there has been a sharp decline in the number of prosperous young individuals, whose parents employed smacking as a method of discipline. Overall, the idea that corporal punishment is important and essential in raising children is ill-informed and dangerous in itself, potentially leading to far worse outcomes for society as a whole.

Concluding, vicious measures in raising children can be tremendously deleterious in shaping their individuality. As has been shown, the use of force as a method of discipline is entirely inappropriate, needless and has to be avoided.