Smart devices have put all of the world’s information at our fingertips. The benefits of this development are obvious, but what are the drawbacks?

In the recent years the number of people using smart phones have exponentially grown, and its foreseeable that majority of the world’s population will own one in the near future. This new development has made information widely and readily available to everyone one the go; however, this does not come without several disadvantages. Analysing both our over reliance on technology and disruptions to sleep will identify some of the negative impacts of this new development.

Firstly, relying on technology for majority of the daily tasks can hinder human brain development as the brain is being asked to do less processing and more button pushing on the smart devices. Many research has shown that different areas of brain development are in par with the amount of use that area is exposed to. Although smart phones make our daily lives easier, they also give our brains less opportunities to develop. Thus, these devices can have adverse impacts on our lives.

Secondly, these smart phones are increasingly taking precedence over social interaction in public places. This can be widely seen among teenagers carrying their tablets and mobile phones everywhere they go, resulting in more virtual networks than in-person communities. In my personal experience the family parties I have attended to, I see many youngsters glued to their phones either playing virtual games or surfing the net and not having an actual conversation with the person next to them. As most would agree the dawn of smart phone technology is the end to an interactive society, one of the appalling consequences of over use of smart devices which should not be taken lightly.

In summary, usage of mobile technology can in the long run cause detrimental health effects and will also reduce, if not eliminate the face to face interaction among people. Despite the benefit of having ready access to almost all the information in the world, the drawbacks discussed above illustrates the massive price we must pay for this. These drawbacks will likely remain ongoing obstacles into the foreseeable future.