Smoking not only harms the smokers, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, I completely agree with statement that smoking should be banned in the public places.

Firstly, banned smoking can decrease the risks of fire in places with highly flammable materials. For example, lots of markets fires have been caused because a smoker has thrown a cigarette lit up in the markets, so thousands of merchandise, many buildings have also caught fire, even many people have died due to these ignorances of the smokers.

Secondly, smokers pollute the air. They breathe out hundred times as much pollution as non-smokers. Secondhand smoke is especially dangerous of children, women who are pregnant, the elder,… For instance, mothers who breath secondhand smoke while pregnant are more likely to have babies with low birth weight even died, the children exposed to secondhand smoke are more likely to develop bronchitis, pneumonia, …

Finally, smoking can decrease your productivity on the job, although you are not puffing on cigarettes in the office. Smokers are absent from work more. Factories and business lose millions of dollars every year because of smokers because smokers have higher medical bills.

In conclusion, I think that smoking should be banned in public places. This have positive impacts on both community health and development of society.