To solve the ever-increasing environmental hazards throughout the world, the best way is to increase the price of fuel.

What is your opinion on the above assumption?

The detrimental impact of conventional fuels on nature is an undeniable fact. Some people claim that selling fuel at exorbitant price can decline their usage, resulting in a decrease of pollutants emitted by them. This essay will cite the reasons this idea is not a permanent solution, and other stringent measures should be imposed by the authorities of a nation.

An increase in price can force people to lessen the usage of fuels like petrol and diesel in vehicles, which can decrease the pollution to a substantial level. However, this can result in price rise of other commodities and services which further might worsen inflation in a country, affecting those with weak economic background. Moreover, in a nation like India where vehicles are owned by around 30% of citizens with strong economy, they will not be affected by this rise. Thus, the higher price can not only have deleterious effects on poor ones but also it is not a lasting fix for continually increasing pollution.

However, to put a check on the usage of fuels and decrease the incessantly increasing environmental hazards, other measures including awareness and self-monitoring is crucial. Government should impose stringent rules and organize an awareness campaign to keep a check on this global issue. Educating people and children by different mediums like primary education for young ones and awareness campaigns for adults can help curb the usage of fuel. In addition, individuals should monitor their actions to reduce the emission of pollutants. So, inculcating a sense of responsibility in humans towards nature can aid to reduce the environmental hazards in air.

To conclude, even if increased fuel price could decrease the consumption of fuel, it is temporary and not an optimal fix for ever-growing usage of fuel. Instead, in my opinion, developing awareness amongst people is paramount.