Some believe that modern technology has made people less socially active, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that cutting-edge technologies, such as the Internet, have fundamentally revolutionized communication’s framework. Despite all achieved benefits obtained from these technological breakthroughs, there are still some people criticizing these achievements as the underlying reason for an ever-increasing alienation from society. In the following paragraphs, both conflicting opinions to this argument will be analyzed, and a rational conclusion will be proposed.

A sizeable number of individuals, especially those holding conventional beliefs, cite that new technologies would widen the gap between individuals within a society. Firstly, it is a widely shared notion among those resisting against modern technologies that nowadays people are more likely to squander their time chatting with their virtual friends behind their personal computers instead of having some quality time with their family members or friends. The interaction between members of a family is of paramount importance for individuals since lack thereof can exert destructive impacts on their later lives. Having been deprived of adequate social interaction, one may encounter several obstacles when applying for a job as interpersonal skills are of high priority for most employers. Moreover, children as the main victims of the widespread use of modern technologies might become afflicted by isolation. This is mostly because that, unfortunately, they appeal to having more followers on their Instagram account rather than expanding their circle in the real world. This behavior, if not controlled, can result in a generation of youths lacking proper social skills.

Although there are numerous potential hazards entailed in new technologies, several benefits can be gained if they are used in moderation. One notable advantage of the exploitation of the aforementioned technologies appears to be a greater opportunity for those who are living far from their family, such as international students. Students who have left their countries in hopes to accumulate decent knowledge from prestigious universities abroad are now capable of getting through to their family via making either video or voice calls over the Internet platform. Apart from the facilitation of communication for abroad students, many may argue that people, particularly who are not adequately confident to establish new friendships in the real world, now can find new friends owing to the prevalence of social networks, such as Facebook. These virtual friendships are not destined to stay so for permanently, and therefore, can be developed and be turned into real ones.

By way of conclusion, although the danger of isolation cannot be explicitly denied, with regards to plausible benefits, I believe that humankind can take advantage of the emergence of new technologies if excessive use is avoided.