Some believe that modern technology has made people less socially active, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Having been introduced new technologies as blessings to the masses, together with the ever-increasing use of them in recent years have arisen the notion that whether people are seriously prone to less sociability or not. I will, however, discuss both views deeming sides of the debate.

Opponents of cutting-edge technologies often assert that gone are the days when making just a phone call to have a brief conversation was the only state-of-the-art technological way of communication, so people often had to go outdoors to deal with their daily affairs. Subsequently, through many face-to-face daily conversations, they were much more likely to build up stronger bonds and be more socially active. Yet, with the advent of new technological gadgets, however, the people’s sociability is deteriorating because the need for physical presence in many activities is declining. Robots, for example, do many tasks which human is unable to do and meet many human requirements even as a life companion.

On the other hand, proponents of the contemporary technology cite the fact that this not only has not restricted people but also has provided ample opportunity and enabled them to communicate with people globally. People, for example, with the click of a button on their smartphones, are instantly capable of having a video chat with others through communication software or social media if they want. This provides human with additional communication approaches along with the traditional ones which considerably enhances the chances of getting involved with various activities in groups or societies worldwide. Thus, the technology could be regarded as a boon to engage human being in diverse social activities.

On balance, modern technology seems to be inevitably intertwined with human life and has its own downsides. Despite this, I believe that this added more options in communication approaches to enable people being more socially active.