Some believe the primary purpose of museums is to entertain people, while
others believe their purpose is to educate. Discuss both views and give your
own opinion.
Museums fulfil different things for different people. On the one hand, many people feel a
museum’s primary purpose is to entertain. However, others feel they function to foster
understanding. Both arguments will be analysed before a conclusion is declared.
Firstly, some argue a museum’s main purpose is to amuse. For example, the Museum of
Natural History in Ottawa limits descriptive placards and instead uses life-sized exhibits
that allow visitors to role play historical moments. Although this approach is stimulating and helps visitors better envision life at certain points in time, it does little to impart
a full understanding of the broader historical themes at play. Thus, the merits of this
opinion are hard to support.
An alternative position argues that the primary purpose of museums is to educate. For
example, the British Museum in London heavily placards its exhibits to provide its visitors with the tools needed to be informed about what is on display. Although perhaps
not as visually stimulating, patrons leave this museum with a much richer understanding
of historical topics and the underlying trends that were at work during certain periods
of time, an approach that offers perspective on modern day life and humanity as a whole.
Thus, the heightened benefits of museums that focus on educating can clearly be seen.
After looking at these different points of view, I feel that museums better serve the public
when they are organised to educate as opposed to entertain. Thus, I hope that the museums of the future are arranged primarily for this purpose.