In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem.

What are causes of this? What actions may be taken?

Growing number of cars leads to congested streets and roads, in particular, in megalopolises has indeed become a grave problem in recent decades. Below some factors that caused the situation in question will be discussed in detail and some possible solutions will be given.

To begin with, worsening situation with traffic in many urban areas is created by many factors but the most crucial one is probably inefficient usage of private vehicles. Those who adhere to this prospect have buttressed it by statistical date that has being collected in the USA, China and the EU. The researchers claims that 81% of all commuters travel alone and avoid taking passengers; moreover, private automobiles are not being used 88% of time. It need not say that that leads to overcrowded streets that are filled with moving and parked cars. Those are to main factors that contribute to the traffic problems.

However, sharing cars is a new policy that has been promoted and implemented by the USA and the European Union has had a positive impact on the traffic in some areas. The number car used has fallen thus the less automobiles are used, the less congested streets become. Consequently, if governments of other countries establish similar practices, the traffic problems might be alleviated significantly.

Finally, development of driveless vehicles may solve the issue completely. If a novice technology that have being developed by such mighty companies as Uber and Google become legal and widespread, dwellers of megacities may forget about jammed roads in the nearest future. Those who work in Uber on the project reported believe that those automatic cars would create a new revolution in transport and two major causes that have been discussed above will be resolved completely because the driveless autos need not be parked in residential areas as well as one car could be used by many individuals to travel. So, it seems that traffic jams have no future in the world of driveless cars.

To sum up, congested roads is an ubiquitous issue in many parts of the today’s world but the situation might be lessened by novel, efficient policies and probably completely solved by the impending technology of autonomous cars.