While in some cities is more common to find, as habitational solution, houses on a wider area of land, in others the place to live is almost exclusively in buildings. To decide which is the best option for a city it is neccesary to urderstand the avaliable space and the poblation density. Hence, in my opinion, both alternatives could be the most usefull option.

On the one hand, some cities do not have so much space and there are a lot of people living in there. In other words, it is neccesary to find and option that allows many people living in a small location. For example, the city of Tokyo in China or the city of New york in USA. As in these places, where the main idea is to avoid the neccesity of wide ares, buildings are the best solution for big cities.

On the other hand, some regions has a lower poblation density, and a lot of virgin areas to construct houses. In this places, houses are the best solution bacause are cheapper than buildings and the space is not a problem. However, this kind of places often are located far away from the main capital cities. Therefore, this option is better for rural areas than urban ones. For example the city of La Pampa in Argentina, which has the lowest poblation density in the country, has houses as the prodominant option among the habitational solutions,

To conclude, and for all the aforamentioned argumens, both options could be the best option, but while buildings are better for big capital cities due the lack of space, houses on a wider area of land are better for rural or small cities because are chipper.