In a world of growing populations, solutions have had to be designed in order to accomodate and house these increasing numbers. One approach has been to tackle the issue using the vertical space available while the other has been to use the lateral landscape. I will illustrate why the better solution is to provide housing via taller buildings.

A major benefit of creating homes in a vertical manner is the reduction in materials and more efficient use of the landscape. By building housing upwards it allows for the neighbouring land to be utilised in other ways, as well as less materials needed for buildings such as apartment complexes. Due to the decline of the environment, being as environmentally friendly as possible is an important consideration when designing the future of homes, so as to reduce waste and maximise resources. Although, large buildings do require more material in total, the cost spent per person that can inhabit the space would most likely be much less in comparison to single housing. Not only does building larger buildings become cost efficient but also reduces material waste and emissions.

In addition, with people being more concentrated in a designated area, systems can be better coordinated in order to fulfill their duties with fewer logisitical problems despite a large number of people. For example, health or government services can be better delivered due to a more centralised point for the dissemination of information. In addition, essential business are able to provide to a larger number of people which allows for better business growth and convenience to consumers. Having a large number of people live in a well defined area allows for better organisation and allocation of resources.

In conclusion, the option to produce larger buildings is a more desirable decision because of the reduction in environmental costs that would result as well as the ability to organise more effectively and efficiently.