Some cities create new housing for their growing populations by constructing a smaller number of high-rise buildings. Other cities create more of low-rise buildings. Which solution is better, in your opinion?

As the global population is ballooning at a rapid rate, providing shelter to this increasing population is one of the biggest challenges faced by numerous nations today. Whereas some cities opt for constructing skyscrapers to accommodate its residents, others still prefer traditional fewer-story residential complex. This essay will argue that constructing high-rise buildings is superior as it would result in better utilization of available land and affordable housing.

Practically, building skyscrapers is the only way to solve numerous intractable problems related to housing. Firstly, since such buildings can consist of multiple stories, they would result in better utilization of available land on which are built on. Burj Khalifa, for instance, have approximately 100 stories which can accommodate thousands of people yet occupying a few yards on the ground. Thus, this kind of architecture is necessary to combat housing issues in cities where land scarcity is becoming a grave concern for governments. In addition to this, because high-rise buildings usually have hundreds of apartments, builders provide affordable mortgage agreements especially when one is opting for the top-floor apartments. In this way, these structures not only save the most valuable asset which is land but also provides cost-effective homes to its residents.

On the other hand, if cities continue to opt for fewer-story buildings, the scenario will remain unchanged. Apparently, these buildings cannot accommodate thousands of people as their multiple-stories counterparts can. Owing to which construction of more low-rise structures will continue that is not going to exacerbate the issue of land scarcity. Take Old Delhi, as an example, this part of Delhi was built upon the traditional low-rise building architecture as a consequence of which new residents have to live away from it simply because there is no land available for construction now. Such examples speak volumes about how inefficient approach it is.

In conclusion, constructing sky-high buildings is the most viable solution to provide realistically priced shelter to city residents while putting less stress on the available land resources.