In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a home with friends. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples.

In numerous western countries, the idea of being independent and self-sufficient is highly valued. Owing to such beliefs, after completing schooling, youngsters move out of their parents’ house to live an independent life. People have varying opinions about this trend; however, this essay will argue that it is a positive advancement as it brings numerous benefits for young adults as well as their parents.

From the youngsters’ perspective, to begin with, living away from their families transform them into responsible people. Whether they live alone or share an apartment with friends, now, they have to carry out most of the household work such as cleaning and cleaning. In this process, they become accountable and start to learn valuable life skills which might otherwise they have ignored since parents do all this for their offspring. For instance, I have been living in Canada alone for almost a year, this separation has taught me significant values such as managing expenses more consciously, learning how to use and even improved my confidence level. Thus, by living away from one’s family they become accountable for their actions and choices.

In addition, this trend has brought benefits for parents as well. As young adults shift from their parents’ house. The parents can now have more time for themselves which was once occupied my child-rearing responsibilities. They can have multiple options to either spend more time together or pursue those hobbies which remained unfulfilled because of increased responsibilities. Moreover, these moms and dads become financially sounder as they are no longer supporting their sons and daughters. For example, there is an upsurge in the number of elderly tourists going on world tours because of the fact that these couples are no longer stressed for providing financial support to their children, thus, pursuing their desire that might have gone unfulfilled if this switch was not happening. Therefore, this trend is also beneficial for parents.

To conclude, living away from family transform youngsters into responsible adults as well as parents can dedicate more time to themselves. Due to such significant advantages, this switch is, indeed, a positive development for the society.