People live in cities like to have the unique architectural design of the building, and some government do not have relevant standards to regulate construction. However, whether the public should continue with this situation sparks much debate. Some people suggest establishing policies of building control while others do not. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this phenomenon and why proper measures should be taken to control the building’s design and construction.

Without control from the authorities, property owners can design and construct the buildings into their favourite styles. Since individuals vary in the preference of housing, this seems to be an excellent way to fix their needs respectively and improve their living standard. However, the essential required functions of living space are universal, and it could be standardised.

On the other hand, people might ignore the safety and quality in order to pursuit speciality of building appearance and result in adverse impacts on society such as human injuries incurred by the collapsed structure. Also, the flexibility of building construction might jeopardise our environment and other industries’ operation, for example, the improperly planned skyscraper, without consideration of location, could be a significant hazard to the airline industry as blocking the airline route. In addition, the building in modern cities plays a significant role in city landscape and urban planning, and it should be appropriately designed at a macro level. Otherwise, a freely built housing or office may not be able to match the neighbourhood. In this case, the government should provide public and building contractors a master plan for improving urban aesthetics.

This essay discussed both the advantages and disadvantages of construction flexibility. In summary, people should design their living space under the proper regulations that not restrict humankind’s creation but ensure the construction quality and comprehensive consider other social factors.