Some companies sponsor sport as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over the past two decades advertising is an indispensable part of business. These days, some multinational companies be held a responsible for sponsoring of sports so as to advertise their products. Although, some have negative opinions, but a majority of the population thinks it is full of advantages. From my standpoint, definitely, it will impose positive aspects for corporates, individuals and sport players.

Undoubtedly, sport plays a vital role in human’s life. Recent marketing trends are radically changing and sport industry has been used as a marketing medium to sell commodities and services and companies and players can benefit from this situation. Firstly, corporate which find it difficult to attend in global markets can link their name and brand to successful and famous athletes. That means that sports sponsorship provides increased media exposure for a company and its brands. Therefore, player’s fans pay more attention on this company’s products and, in turn the widespread use of them can increase the rate of sale in the long term. Moreover, players can focus on their sport instead of being distracted by financial worries. The players who are from deprived areas are more likely to suffer from lack of basic amenities and therefore, they face too much stress.

On the other hand, there are certain drawbacks to this that might have an adverse influence on the human mind. From a social perspective, behaviour of sports players is a decisive factor in shaping children’s personality. Thus, if a player use drugs and has misbehaved, will have negative consequences for both companies which sponsored them and society. In addition, some companies may advertise products harmful to people’s health. This situation will be compounded by the fact that fans of those sports players who consume these products certainly suffer from health problems.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the product adverts have some demerits, but on the whole is beneficial for both multinational companies and sports athletes.