Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the growing number of sports events organized in various parts of the world, corporate have found a new medium to advertise their products as sponsorship. It is considered an excellent strategy by a certain section of the society, because it caters to masses and is also valuable for the new businesses. However, others believe that it has a lot of demerits. In my opinion businesses should sponsor the sports for their growth.

There is a plethora of reason due to which the companies are willing to sponsor the sports for their advertisements. Firstly, by doing this, the businessmen are able to make their products visible to a large number of people. For instance, Cricket has a huge fan-following in India due to which multiple companies bid for the team sponsorship. Secondly, sponsoring allows the new firms to get the visibility in an already over flooded market. To illustrate, by getting the sponsorship of a team in Kabbadi, any product may get the attention of the people which, it is not able to do otherwise.

On the other hand, some people think becoming sponsor is not a great idea. One of the major reason is that, in involves a huge expenditure. Other marketing strategies may be able to do the same work in small sum of money like distributing pamphlets, advertisement on radio and so on. Another main issue with sponsorship is that it will not be targeting the desired customer base. For example, a cooking oil hoarding in any stadium is not a viable option as the audience for this are mainly housewives.

In conclusion, according to me there are both merits and drawbacks of becoming a sponsor for sports event as it covers many people at the same time and it is also beneficial for the companies who are trying to enter the market.