In some countries, criminal trials are shown on television for the public. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the recent breakthrough in the field of communication technology, we are able to transform the traditional methods of performing duties. One of them is the criminal proceeding which is now increasing broadcasted on the electronic media. I firmly believe that this method has offered a merit of advantageous to the society, as we shall discuss below

One of the major benefits it has to offer to society is public awareness. When legal proceeding is shown online, it will broaden the horizon of the public. So people would be better able to understand laws, rules and regulations and how overall system works. Furthermore, not only it enhances law understanding, but also make sure system would not be manipulated. If trial is broadcasted in front of millions of people, it will be highly unlikely that an affluent member of society with power and resources will manage to hijack the system in his favor. Thus, system’s understanding and effectiveness would be strengthened if proceedings are open to public.

On the other hand, there are some draws which may oppose threats to the effectiveness of this system. As the hearing is viewed by millions of people, defendant would be recognized as a negative character in the society on broader level. This would have detrimental effects on his career and later life in the same community. Furthermore, if the criminal is a public figure, such as a famous singer, who is widely praised and looked up to by public, then there would be an additional pressure on the jury. In order to cope with the public opinion, judicial members may be biased towards lenient punishment. However, these issues can be resolved by taking active measures.

To conclude, law breaking offender’s legal proceeding are increasing made available to public with the help of electronic media. Although this trend has some drawbacks especially for the offender, such as lost privacy, I firmly believe that it offers a merit of advantages to the society. If this trends continues public would be more familiar with the legal protocols being followed in the courts, as well as system will be unbiased towards all the members of community.