In some countries, employees are generally given two weeks of paid vacation time each year. In other countries, employees are given four or six weeks of paid vacation time.

Considering the needs of both employee and employer, what do you think is a reasonable amount of paid vacation time for employees to have?

Some people argue that paid leaves should be given to the employees annually for four-six weeks, while others argue that it should be for two weeks. This essay argues that a long duration of off-time would cost the employer, while in my opine, two weeks off time is adequate to energize.

On the one hand, paid leaves are an expense to the company because the staff receives a salary without offering any service for the given period time. Therefore, company costs increase with every non-working days. Moreover, the employer has to ensure for short term replacement from the existing workforce and also have to provide him training and additional allowances for added responsibilities which further adds to the cost. For example, Malaysia has the highest number of holidays apart from the annual leaves, so thereby giving more than two weeks of leave become impractical and infeasible for company.

On the other hand, short breaks are quite essential as it helps to revitalize. In other words, breaks help the staff to have a clearer mind to start fresh with a greater concentration that improves their performances. For instance, I have always opted for a few days off before taking up the next bucket of work. I believe, off days are directly proportional to efficiency, so thereby having a proper balance of work and holidays reduce the stress.

In conclusion, although six-weeks leave is an employee dream, but would cost company fortunes have a detrimental effect on their business. Consequently, two-weeks paid off is more viable as it improves their productivity at work.