In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Taxes are the major source of revenue for the government. Therefore, some people feel that paying taxes and that too on time is their foremost responsibility that citizens have towards their country. However, few people do not agree with this view and think there are other ways also to contribute to society. I totally agree with them.

Paying taxes is important because the government needs money to fund various social and infrastructural projects. The government provides several health care facilities, transportation system, an educational system with less cost or no cost to most of those people who cannot afford to even think of these things. For instance, india has developed on a fast pace as the current government has proved themselves by registering india in one of the most powerful nuclear countries. The government has provided a fantastic infrastructure to the country where twenty-four hours journey can be covered in a mere four hours by building a six-way highway. But it is wrong to assume that a person paying tax is a good citizen. Many criminals pay taxes and their financial contribution to the country is nothing when we compare them with the amount of damage they cause.

Tax is just one of the contributions that a citizen can make. it is equally important to abide by the law, help the needy citizen and respect the social norms. When people respect the law, social factors, respect the people, it creates a harmonious environment where everyone feels safe and happy. Another responsibility of every native is to help the government to maintain clean surroundings and uses natural resources carefully and mindfully. There are times where these simple contributions to the society can make a difference and are more valuable than paying taxes.

To put it in nutshell, paying taxes are important and is only the one side of the coin that is incomplete without the other part which is maintaining the peace and abiding by the law. It is a moral obligation to pay in whichever manner the individual prefers.