Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs; Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

University Education is considered to be a necessity in modern society. It is said without formal education humans are considered uncivilized. Although there are people who believe that the sole aim of getting tertiary education is to get better jobs however on the side there are others who believe that they can reap wider benefits while attending universities. In the opinion, tertiary education is not only necessary for getting better-paying jobs but also important for learning and personality development of a human being. In the below paragraph I will discuss both the sides of this contentious topic and will conclude with my opinion.

Firstly it is a well-known fact that nowadays most of the employers consider only university graduates for open positions thus people consider attaining tertiary education as the only means to land up into better jobs. Since the software industry is the highest paid sector, therefore, there is an increasing trend amongst juveniles to pursue graduation or post-graduation courses in computer sciences from universities which would then lead to high paying jobs. For instance, Google and Microsoft pay scale is the best among the fortune 500 companies thus people increasingly wanted to do related courses which can lead to a job in such companies.

On the contrary, it is also being seen that universities apart from being a citadel of education are being increasingly seen as cross-cultural experience hubs where people can learn more about different cultures and can have vivid experiences thus helping juveniles in their endeavours at professional front. For instance, nowadays universities are inviting students from foreign countries thus it provides them with an opportunity to learn more about the culture and language of the native country and vice-versa. Additionally, many medical universities set up free medical health check-up booths in nearby villages where destitute people are examined by medical student’s hence contributing back to social welfare.

To conclude as per the arguments mentioned above it is evident that tertiary education is not only necessary for getting high wages jobs but also an enabler which can help individuals to contribute back to society.