Today’s food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customers. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

Admittedly, various categories of food has to travel a long distance before reaching the consumer. some exotic fruits and vegetables which are not available locally have to travel to reach the customer’s plate. From my perspective, this trend has both positive and negative effects and I will be discussing both sides of the coin.

Firstly, exporting food from outside the country affects the quality and the taste of the product. However, preservatives and other ingredients are mixed with it to keep it fresh but it does have an impact on our health. Secondly, the more time it takes from the field to the plate, the more likely nutrients in it are likely to perish. Lastly, exported food from another country will cost more as compared to the locally grown food, the prices are exorbitantly high. For instance, Singapore does not produce anything of its own and export all the items from its neighbouring countries like water and rice from Malaysia; vegetables and fruits from Thailand and few products from China and Australia. Irrefutable to say that, this is the reason that Singapore is one of the costliest city to live in.

On the other hand, people get introduced to new exotic vegetables and fruits which are not locally produced in their own country. Owing to the reason that some countries cannot produce few crops due to unfavourable climatic conditions. Moreover, people can have a wide range of products in the supermarket which can be available throughout the year. Also, there will be less consumption of land for farming purposes and more and more constructions can be done to accommodate the population.

To recapitulate, while people depend more on imported items for their own choices. In my opinion, this topic has both positive and negative aspects.