Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs; Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

University Education is considered to be a necessity in modern society without which humans are considered uncivilized. While there are people who believe that the sole aim of getting tertiary education is to get jobs however there are others who believe that they can reap wider benefits after attaining tertiary education. In the opinion, tertiary education is not only necessary for getting better jobs but also important for the overall personality development of a human being. In the below paragraph I will discuss both the sides of this contentious topic and conclude with my opinion.

Firstly in this era of the technology revolution, a plethora of jobs are being created in various technology sectors. Hence the need for university graduates who are skilled enough to work in a particular domain. Additionally getting a tertiary education from a reputed university is considered to be a pivotal factor for landing up in better jobs. For instance, Fortune 500 companies like Google and Facebook hired university graduates from IIT Delhi at a whopping package of INR 1 crores per annum. Similarly many startup companies like Ayecka, Novelsat and Newtec hired best brains from the universities on handsome salaries.

On the contrary tertiary education also helps in overall personality and skill development of juvenile minds who can contribute to society. Although many people associate university education with better jobs however those people forget about the impact of education on society and individual. For instance, many children who enter university often turn out to be successful painters, writers, lawmakers, scientists who contribute back to the betterment of society. Inventions of electricity by Thomas Elva Edison was a contribution back to the society, Famous painting Mona Lisa by Leonardo Da Vinci was contribution back to the artistic society who still find the piece of work amazing, Mother Teresa helped destitute people by working with missionary organization thus contributing back to the society.

To sum up as per the arguments mentioned above it is evident that tertiary education is not only better for getting highly paid jobs but on the other hand, enables individuals to contribute elements which can be better for the development of the society.